help_outline Skip to main content
Official Address United States Croquet Association
700 Florida Mango Road
West Palm Beach, Florida 33406
Contact P | (561) 478-0760
F | (561) 686-5507
E |
Add Me To Your Mailing List

News / Articles

2021 Sarasota CCC Club Championships Doubles

Gene Raymond | Published on 2/12/2021

The Sarasota County Croquet Club held the first portion of its annual Club Championship series, with the SCCC Club Doubles Championship Tournament over February 12-13, 2021.

The Club’s (38) member participants, comprising (19) doubles teams, played on four full size courts and two 90% courts, divided into (3) flights: Championship Flight - (6) teams, First Flight - (7) teams, Second Flight - (6) teams.

All flights played in Block format with flight winners determined by win record, unless the top teams tied based upon wins, which then resulted in a playoff game(s) to determine the Flight Champion.

Play began on Friday at 8:30AM under seasonal cool conditions, which warmed quickly into the upper 70’s with bright sunlight. Saturday’s games continued under sunny skies and low 80’s

Championship Flight ended block play with a tie, each of the top two teams winning (4) games. The playoff match resulted in the team of Russ Cuccia/Dan Pailas defeating the team of Matt Griffith/ Merle Berkshire for the Championship.

First Flight was won by the team of Michail Kline/Jim Watrous with (5) wins. The team of Michael Kukla/Anne Kukla placed second with (4) wins.

Second Flight ended block play with three teams tied for first place with (4) wins each. Playoff seeding based on net points resulted in the teams of Bob Merritt/Gillian Merritt vs Christof (Chris) Weihs/Karen Weihs doing battle, with the Merritt’s prevailing. The Merritt’s then faced the team of Bob Gellineau/Jane Koziol for the championship, which was won by the Gellineau team.

All flight winners will have their names inscribed on the Club Doubles Championship plaque mounted in the SCCC Clubhouse.

A special “Thank You” to all the volunteers who manned deadness boards, handled court set-ups, and assisted with the tournament.

Doug Ledgett was the Tournament Director for the Doubles Tournament and Gillian Merritt was Tournament Manager.

Championship Flight
1. Russ Cuccia & Dan Pailas
2. Matt Griffith & Merle Berkshire
3. Chris Barley & Nancy Hart
4. Webster Bull & Gene Raymond
4. Ken Northrop & Arthur Olsen
6. Walt Janitz & Sandy Janitz

First Flight
1. Michael Kline & Jim Watrous
2. Michael Kukla & Anne Kukla
3. Christine Smith & Ellie Griffith
3. Jon Ayers & Ellen Goldener
3. Dick Schleiter & Arlene Stevens
6. Roger Vorraber & Kathleen Rivers
7. Rita McNamera & Connie Coling

Second Flight
1. Bob Gelineau & Jane Koziol
2. Bob Merritt & Gillian Merritt
3. Christof Weihs & Karen Weihs
4. Nona McGinnis & Nora Rainone
5. Harry Brown & Nancy Wonson
6. Maria Petrola & Linda Orff